Student Health Services

Gail Smith

Health Director

Email:gailsmith@pickenscountyschools.org
Phone # 706-253-1700

Keeping children healthy, safe, in school, and ready to learn is a priority for both our educational and healthcare systems.  Pickens County School Nurses work to strengthen and facilitate the educational process by addressing the health and safety needs of students and staff. The school nurses work as a team with school administrators, teachers, counselors, school social workers, families, and the community to identify and assist each student to enhance their well being, academic success, and life-long achievement.

COVID-19 

For more information about the Coronavirus disease and how you can take precautionary measures, please click on the Coronavirus link above or click here


IMPORTANT VACCINE UPDATES

  • Before starting seventh grade, all students born on or after January 1, 2002, and entering or transferring into seventh grade will need proof of a whooping cough booster shot and a meningococcal shot unless the child has an exemption on file with the school. 
  •  Before starting the 2020-2021 school year, all students 16 years of age and older who are entering or transferring into the 11th grade must have received one booster dose of the meningococcal conjugate vaccine unless their initial dose was administered on or after their 16th birthday.  
  • The school must receive proof of vaccinations documented on the Georgia Immunization Certificate (Form 3231).  This can be received from your child's doctor or the health department. 
  • Students without health insurance or whose health plan does not cover these vaccines can call the Pickens County Health Department and ask about getting no-cost or low-cost vaccines. Their number is 706-253-2821.
  • If you have completed a religious affidavit (GA Form 2208), please contact your child's school nurse to verify that the correct document is on file.
  • Click here to learn more about school vaccines  https://dph.georgia.gov/Vaccinate-teens

 

CONTACT US 

The program is staffed by a District Health Director and a licensed nurse in each school. 

Name School Email Address Phone Number
Debra Richmond Harmony Elementary School debrarichmond@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1840
Melissa Faucett Hill City Elementary School melissafaucett@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1880
Traci Baggett Jasper Middle School tracibaggett@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1730
Michael Scott Pickens High School michaelscott@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1800
Pat Lee Pickens Junior High School patlee@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1830
Donna Underwood Tate Elementary School donnaunderwood@pickenscountyschools.org 706-253-1860